Posted in general postings

My new blogging home

Hello! I’m not new to WordPress, having blogged here for the past six years. This is a new address, though – a new home on the web. (Do people even still call the internet the “web”?) For why I’ve started over, please read this, which is the final post on my old blog.

First, let me introduce you to my home, Kitsap Peninsula, Washington.

kitsappeninsula

Yes, there we are, circled in green and surrounded by the waters of Puget Sound. As you can see, Seattle is to our east and that vast expanse with nothing marked to our west is the Olympic peninsula and Olympic National Park. There are three ways off our peninsula – 1) by the Washington State Ferries system’s two routes that serve us, the  Bremerton/Seattle route, or the Southworth/West Seattle  route, or 2) by the Tacoma Narrows Bridge, or 3) by a tiny little strip of land near Belfair that connects us to the Olympic peninsula.

Let me tell you about my town. Port Orchard has a population of about 13,500 people. We have one main street that cuts through downtown and one stop light at the center of that street.  There are six marinas dotting Sinclair Inlet (an arm of Puget Sound), and our town faces Bremerton, which is the location of Naval Base Kitsap and the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard. If you’re a Debbie Macomber fan (and I certainly am not), you will recognize Port Orchard as the basis of her Cedar Cove series and television show.

The sounds and smells of Port Orchard are unique. Our house is 1/4 mile  up the hill from the water, and we hear everything. Squawking seagulls are sometimes drowned out by horns, sirens, and music from the Naval base across the water. The loud horn of the Seattle ferry will echo through our street, and I’ll have to smile because that means yet another wayward boater has gotten in its way (or because it’s really foggy down on the water.) In the early mornings of spring, it is not uncommon to hear sea lions barking from their homes down on the water. The smell of saltwater mixes with the lilies, lilacs, roses, and daisies on my property and the towering evergreens that stand spiking against the sky in every direction I turn.

My commute to Seattle for work involves a short, five-to-ten minute sailing on a passenger ferry across Sinclair inlet, where I will board a huge ferry that holds upwards of 140 cars and 1200 people for the 60 minute sailing to Seattle.  It is not uncommon to watch tiny jellyfish swim beneath the surface of the water, or make eye contact with the resident seal that lives near the ferry dock as I wait for my ride.

Life on Kitsap peninsula is unique. The air is crisp, the Olympic Mountains watch over us, calling to me for adventure and escape, and here, more than anywhere else on Earth – I can breathe. I can be me. I can feel and live and love and thrive in ways that I never could in Indiana.

Kitsap Peninsula is my home, and I can’t wait to share it with you.

Author:

Writer, blogger, wife, full-time career woman, herbalist, reader, crafter, dog mom, amateur historian, student of Judaism. Dream of climbing Mt. Rainier. Although genetically a Hoosier, the Pacific Northwest is my home.

Leave a Reply

